Euro-Mediterranean Information System on know-how in the Water sector
International portal

News Lebanon: Alain Tobourian is the new Energy and Water Minister

Lebanon finally formed a 30-member national unity government last July 11 following a five-week wrangling over key portfolios.

The new cabinet consists 16 ministers of the Western-backed ruling majority, 11 allied with the Shiite Hezbollah-led opposition and the rest three named by President Michel Suleiman. Following is the lineup of the new cabinet:


Prime Minister: Fouad Seniora

Deputy Prime Minister: Issam Abou Jamra

Defense Minister: Elias Murr

Foreign Minister: Fawzi Saloukh

Interior Minister: Ziad Baroud

Finance Minister: Muhammad Shatah

State Minister: Yousef Takla

State Minister: Khaled Kabbani

State Minister: Wael Abu Faour

State Minister: Nasib Lahoud

State Minister: Ali Qanso

State Minister: Jean Ogassapian

Justice Minister: Ibrahim Najjar

Administration Development Minister: Ibrahim Shamseddine

Public Works and Transportation Minister: Ghazi Ariedy

Telecommunications Minister: Gebran Bassil

Economy and Trade Minister: Muhammad Safadi

Information Minister: Tareq Mitri

Culture Minister: Tammam Salam

Minister of Refugee Affairs: Raymond Audi

Environment Minister: Antoine Karam

Youth and Sports Minister: Talal Arslan

Industry Minister: Ghazi Zoayter

Education Minister: Bahia Hariri

Agriculture Minister: Elias Skaff

Health Minister: Mohammad Khalifa

Energy and Water Minister: Alain Tobourian

Labor Minister: Mohammad Fneish

Minister for Social Affairs: Mario Aoun

Tourism Minister: Elie Maruni

Contact information Moustapha FLEYFEL, Direction Generale de l'Exploitation - Ministere de l'Energie et de l'Eau (email:
Phone: +961 1565 061 ; Fax: +961 1565 555
News type Nomination
File link
Source of information Xinhuanet
Geographical coverage Lebanon
News date 04/08/2008
Working language(s) ENGLISH