Euro-Mediterranean Information System on know-how in the Water sector
International portal

News The World Wetland Network recently launched the International Wetland Globes, an awards scheme to recognise best practice and wetland restoration, and to highlight wetlands in danger.

The Wetland Globes are non-financial awards, and will be given to the wetland itself - representatives connected to the wetland will receive the award. The awards are divided into three categories. Blue recognises best practice in wetland management; green for successful restoration of a degraded wetland; and grey highlights wetlands that are being actively degraded or neglected.

World Wetland Network will deliver these three awards for each continent at the Convention on Biological Diversity Conference in October 2010, and then at the Ramsar Conference in 2012.

Contact information Mr Chris Rostron (email:
Phone: (0)1453 891214
News type Nomination
File link
Source of information worldwetnet
Keyword(s) wetland, award, restoration
Geographical coverage International
News date 18/06/2010
Working language(s) AFAR